Skip to main content


Richard Mills


Peter Goldsworthy

Presented by

State Opera South Australia

Performance Dates

14 Nov 2020


Her Majesty’s Theatre Adelaide


2hrs, 20 min



Performance Language



Based on Ray Lawler’s 1955 Australian play of the same name, this chamber opera tells the story of a long-standing tradition at the end of the sugarcane season, in which cane-cutters Barney and Roo travel south to Melbourne for their annual fling with two city girls. But this year, the seventeenth year, is different. Gone are the larrikin summers of their youth. Instead, their reunion is full of tension, silence, and awkward attempts to hold onto their past. One girl has married; all of them struggle to come to terms with what their futures hold.

The opera was commissioned by the Victoria State Opera and premiered in 1996. Opera Australia subsequently presented the work in 1999.

This production’s season was cut short due to Covid 19.

Further information about Composer Richard Mills can be found on the Australian Music Centre website.

Libretto Radio interview transcript Set Model

Olive Antoinette Halloran
Pearl Dimity Shepherd
Emma Elizabeth Campbell
Roo Joshua Rowe
Barney Bradley Daley
Bubba Desiree Frahn
Johnny Dowd Nicholas Cannon

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Composer Richard Mills
Libretto Peter Goldsworthy
Conductor Richard Mills
Director Joseph Mitchell
Designer Simone Romaniuk
Lighting Designer Trudy Dalgleish
Assistant Director Clara Solly-Slade

Close Menu